NEBOSH International General Certificate


They are recognised by professional membership bodies including the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH), the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM) and the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management (CIWEM).

Why take the Nebosh

Because is an outstanding course, recognisable in the safety industry, which can help you find a job or expand your knowledge in unknown territories. More than 150.000 have passed the IGC course, making it the leading elite training program.

Course Aim

At the end of the course delegates will be able to appreciate and understand their responsibilities and that of their subordinate staff. They will be able to recognise and control common risks associated with many different work based activities which will include the manufacturing environment, the office environment, construction activities as well as others and appreciate the standards of health and safety to be applied in key areas of these activities.


The NEBOSH Certificate is divided into three units, the first two are assessed by written examination. The third by practical exam.

Unit NGC1: Management of Health and Safety


Foundations in Health and Safety
Health and Safety Management Systems – Policy, Organising, Planning, Measuring, Audit and Review

Taught over five days.

Assessed by a two-hour written exam consisting of ten ‘short-answer’ compulsory questions and one ‘long-answer’ compulsory question. Papers are marked by external examiners appointed by NEBOSH.

Unit GC2: Controlling Workplace Hazards


Workplace Hazards and Risk Control
Transport Hazards and Risk Control
Musculoskeletal Hazards and Risk Control
Work Equipment Hazards and Risk Control
Electrical Safety
Fire Safety
Chemical and Biological Health Hazards and Risk Control
Physical and Psychological Health Hazards and Risk Control

Taught over five days.

Assessed by a two-hour written exam consisting of ten ‘short-answer’ eight mark compulsory questions and one ‘long-answer’ twenty mark compulsory question. Papers are marked by external examiners appointed by NEBOSH. The pass standard for each paper is set at 45%.

Unit NGC3: Workplace-Based Practical Assessment

A two hour practical assessment carried out in your workplace no later than two weeks after sitting your final NEBOSH exam. The practical examination is internally assessed by the programme organiser and externally moderated by NEBOSH. Candidates must receive a grade of 60% or more to pass the assessment.

Candidates will be awarded a unit certificate for each unit passed. When candidates have been awarded a Unit Certificate in all three units the marks will be added together and a final grade is awarded as follows:

Pass 150 – 179 marks
Credit 180 – 209 marks
Distinction 210 marks or more
Once a candidate has successfully completed all three units the overall qualification parchment will be issued.

You must complete all units within 5 years to achieve the full NEBOSH General Certificate qualification.

How to attend or organise a course

If you are looking to attend a course organised by us, please view the open venues below. If you would like further details please contact us on 777 8 7779 or fill the form below.

No Events

    Book a NEBOSH Course